Alumni Circle & Squares

Yesterday I was asked to create a poster to be on display for an alumni and potential student event. It had to feature at least nine of the previous Trinity alumni, with a good mix of old and new. Simple, classical and with the incorporation of the three Trinity College colours (Blue, Gold & Grey) were the only restrictions I was given. The poster was to be printed in A0 size.

This was my basic starting point:

v-2

The header shape was created freehand on my tablet in Illustrator. All the photos are just Wikicommon downloads.

I then started playing with opacity and shapes in InDesign:

v-1

We then also wanted to include another line of alumni:

v-4

Finally, we decided to go in a completely different direction based on an initial sketch I had doodled on the side of my pad while we were brainstorming. Sometimes the best ideas are at the side of your A5 pad!

v-1

Leave a Reply

